Ifedapo federal constituency In Group C,As They Set To Participate In Oyo Unity Cup.

By | January 12, 2020

The cup will draw participants across the 14 Federal Constituencies of Oyo State, the Nigerian Union of Journalists (NUJ) and the Nigerian Youth Service Corps (NYSC). The competition which will be run for 3 weeks, will produce 4 winners. The draws for the Oyo Unity Cup has produced 4 groups with 16 clubs.

The Minister who spoke on the essence of the competition, said the aim of the tournament is to promote grassroot football and discover new talents in Oyo State. “Don’t forget Seyi Olofinjana was discovered in this manner in Ogbomoso and he went ahead to play for the Super Eagles.

“There are many Olofinjanas in Oyo and the tournament will unveil them. This is just a starting point,” he added.

Members of the Organizing Committee for the competition while acknowledging the kind gesture of the Minister, noted that the tournament would boost local football clubs in the State and discover young talents in the State who will then be exported to the national and international scenes. Coaches from the 14 Federal Constituencies, the NUJ and the NYSC also commended the Minister for putting such a competition in place.

The opening match of the tournament will be held in Ogbomoso on the 25th of January 2020 with the Minister billed to be in attendance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *